Ollama

Ollama is a platform for running and building with open AI models on your own hardware (macOS, Windows, Linux) or in the cloud. Cloud usage is billed per token or through subscription plans.
Ollama

Ollama is a platform for running and building with open AI models, either on a user’s own computer or on Ollama’s cloud. It is available for macOS, Windows, and Linux, and the site states that prompts are never stored or trained on.

The documentation describes uses such as connecting open models to desktop apps and coding agents, and building applications that call cloud models through Ollama, OpenAI, or Anthropic-compatible APIs.

Python and JavaScript libraries are also provided. Running models on your own hardware is described as always unlimited. Cloud models are billed per token under a pay-as-you-go plan or covered by monthly usage credits on Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscriptions.

How It Works

Users download Ollama and run a model on their own computer, or choose cloud models that run without a local GPU. Applications can reach cloud models through Ollama’s API or through OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible clients.

Cloud usage is metered in tokens at each model’s published rate, drawing first on included plan credits and then on any purchased credit balance.

Why Users Choose It

  • Local use of models on own hardware has no usage cap and 100% free.
  • Prompt and response data is stated to never be logged or trained on
  • Offers both local and cloud model options on one platform
  • Compatible with OpenAI and Anthropic API clients
  • Pricing ranges from pay-per-token to team and enterprise plans

Core Features

  • Run open AI models locally on macOS, Windows, and Linux
  • Cloud models billed per token, with no local GPU needed
  • Tool calling support for cloud models trained for it
  • Documented capabilities including streaming, thinking, structured outputs, vision, embeddings, speech, and web search
  • API with OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible clients
  • Python and JavaScript libraries
  • Integrations with desktop apps and coding agents
  • Team and Enterprise administration features such as centralized billing and model access controls

Use Cases

  • Running open models privately on a personal computer
  • Powering coding agents and desktop apps with open models
  • Building applications that call cloud-hosted open models
  • Running multiple agents at once on higher-tier plans
  • Sharing model usage and billing across a team

Pros & Cons

Pros
  • Running models on your own hardware is always unlimited
  • Prompt or response data is stated to never be logged or trained on
  • Free pay-as-you-go tier with no subscription or service fees
  • Per-model token prices are published openly
  • Off-peak pricing is available for some models
Cons
  • Included monthly usage credits do not roll over
  • Concurrent request limits apply (3 on Pay as you go and Pro, 10 on Max and Team)
  • Some listed features are marked as coming soon
  • Only one account per person is allowed

Pricing

Pricing model: Freemium

PlanMonthlyAnnualLimitsNotes
Pay as you go$0Not statedPay per token for every cloud model; 3 concurrent requestsIncludes running models locally, no subscription, and no service fees
Pro$20 / mo.$200/yr billed annually ($16.67 / mo.)$60 of usage credits per month; 3 concurrent requestsAccess to larger pro models; fast mode listed as coming soon
Max$100 / mo.Not stated$300 of usage credits per month; 10 concurrent requestsEarly access to the newest models; aimed at power users running multiple agents
Team (early access)$500 / mo.Not stated$1,000 of usage credits per month, shared across the team; unlimited users; 10 concurrent requestsCentralized billing and administration and priority support; shared projects, skills, and instructions listed as coming soon
EnterpriseCustomCustomVolume usage pricingAdds model access controls, cost budgets for users and API keys, a private Slack channel with dedicated support, and custom security questionnaires

Cloud model prices are listed per million tokens (input, cached input, output). Off-peak pricing applies for some models outside 12:00 and 18:00 UTC on weekdays and all day on weekends. Included usage resets monthly and does not roll over. Verify current pricing on the official Ollama pricing page.

FAQ

Yes. Users can download Ollama and run a model on their computer, and the running models on your own hardware is always unlimited free.
According to the pricing FAQ, prompt or response data is never logged or trained on. Hosting partners are required to have no-logging, no-training, and zero-data-retention policies.
Usage is measured in tokens at each model’s rates. Pro, Max, and Team plans include a monthly dollar amount of usage credits, and Pay as you go accounts pay per request with usage credits.
Yes. The documentation describes calling cloud models with Ollama, OpenAI, or Anthropic APIs, and it also lists Python and JavaScript libraries.

AI Review Desk
Logo
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Compare
0